NDSU Chemistry Graduate Students Receive Young Investigator Awards

The ACS Young Investigator Award Competition, sponsored by the Red River Valley Section of the American Chemical Society, consisted of a day long program of oral presentations by graduate students and postdocs from NDSU and UND.  Presenters competed for four awards to sponsor travel to the spring National ACS meeting to be held in Anaheim, CA this March. The competition was held February 5 on the campus of Mayville State University. The top graduate student award was given to Sean Evenson of the NDSU Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. Second place was split between Jana Stavova (UND Chemistry) and Michael Mulholland (NDSU Chemistry and Biochemistry). Both NDSU students are researching conjugated polymers under the direction of Prof. Seth Rasmussen. The competition was hosted by Mayville State University and included nine graduate students and postdocs from the NDSU Departments of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Coatings and Polymeric Materials, the NDSU Center for Nanoscale Science and Engineering (CNSE), and the UND Department of Chemistry.